Did you love Harry Potter? Check out this read-alike list featuring more magical tales and fantastical series. Join us to talk books (and eat snacks!) at Read-Alike Book Lounge, Wednesdays at 2pm all summer long!

  • The Magicians

    A young man is shocked to find out that the magical land from his favorite fantasy novels really exists - and is more dangerous than he could imagine.

  • The Night Circus

    The circus arrives without warning. Within the black and white striped tents, two magicians, who are meant to duel, fall in love.

  • A Darker Shade of Magic

    Perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the parallel worlds, Kell and Delilah first need to stay alive.

  • Neverwhere

    Richard Mayhew is a young London businessman with a good heart and an ordinary life, which is changed forever when he is plunged through the cracks of reality into a world of shadows and darkness--the Neverwhere.

  • Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell

    Sophisticated, witty, and ingeniously convincing, Susanna Clarke's magisterial novel weaves magic into a flawlessly detailed vision of historical England.

  • The Eyre Affair

    Suspenseful and outlandish, absorbing and fun - a novel unlike any other and an introduction to the imagination of a most distinctive writer and his singular fictional universe.

  • The Raven Cycle

    A spellbinding series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

  • The Lunar Chronicles

    Each book entails a new take on an old fairy tale, including Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, and Snow White.

  • His Dark Materials

    Accompanied by her daemon, Lyra Belacqua sets out to prevent her best friend and other kidnapped children from becoming the subject of gruesome experiments in the Far North.

  • Inkheart

    Meggie's life changes dramatically when she realizes that she and her father can bring characters from books into the real world while reading aloud.

  • The GrishaVerse

    Alina is a teenage orphan in the Russia-inspired land of Ravka whose entire life changes after unexpectedly harnessing an unknown power to save her best friend.

  • The Graceling Realm

    A mesmerizing world, a death-defying adventure, and a heart-racing romance that will consume you, hold you captive, and leave you wanting more.