We get by with a little help from our Friends!

The Circle of Friends for the NSU Alvin Sherman Library, Research and Information Technology Center hosted its Annual Gala and Fundraising event last Saturday, May 14th, to recognize outgoing board members, and to install new board members and officers.

Outgoing board members Laurence Maurer, President, and Rona Levitt were recognized for their devoted service. Circle of Friends also elected new additions to its Board of Directors for the 2016-2017 fiscal year: Karla Avecillas, Chuck Malkus, Greg McDermott, Charles Morton, Maggie Rogers and Janet Speth. Elected for office were Michael Greenberg as President, Lorraine C. Hoffmann as Vice-President, Ann Porterfield as Secretary, and Peter Woolf as Treasurer. Additional board members include Joan Baxt, Adolfo J. Cotilla, Jr., Jana Hanbury, Donna Horkey, Ronnie Oller, Gilbert Young, M.D., and Thomas Zimmerman. Ex-Officio Board members include Lydia Acosta, Elaine Blattner and Luis Muriel.

The evening began with almost 120 attendees enjoying cocktails and appetizers, followed by the Annual Meeting and dinner. Then, guests were treated to a performance by Across the Universe, a Beatles tribute band. The night ended on a sweet musical note with a parting gift from Hoffman’s Chocolates.

Underwriting was generously provided by Peter and Fran Woolf, Susie and Larry Maurer, Adolfo and Marisela Cotilla, Mike Moskowitz and Crawford Tracey Corporation. Many thanks to all the generous underwriting for their kind support.